New Music for Strings

ChamberLab-May2015-Web-2Saturday, May 9th, 2015
Hotel Congress

ChamberLab was pleased to present a concert of new music for strings, and the first performance of the work-in-progress choose-your-own-adventure story entitled Everything Happens for a Reason. Five composers and eight performers brought you twelve new pieces of original music!

Dana Fehr ran live sound, and Shelly Black shot the video and photos below.


Meet the Performers

Candice Amato, viola.
Chamber musician, recitalist, and orchestral player, Candy is a member of the Tucson Symphony, and she will also join the St. Andrew’s Bach Society and Tucson Chamber Artists for concerts in the 2014-2015 season.
chris-blackChris Black, double bass.
For this concert, we present the premier of his work-in-progress, audience-driven musical adventure story Everything Happens for a Reason. You’ve woken up hungover in an empty bed in a strange house—what happens next is up to you.
bounkeuaphotoSamantha Bounkeua, violin. Samantha has composed “Then Again” for 2 violins and cello, and “Maura” for solo violin and voice. This is Samantha’s ChamberLab debut as a composer! Nick Coventry, viola.
Nick Coventry attended UCSB studying viola and has spent the last ten years mainly as an improviser, playing original music, gypsy and bluegrass.
Marco Rosano, piano.
Tucson born musician Marco Rosano is an accomplished multi-instrumentalist and composer. For this concert, Marco has composed “More Than You Bargained For” for violin and piano.
Joseph Rousos-Hammond, violin.
Principal Violin II with the Tucson Symphony, Joseph also performs with Tucson Chamber Artists, St. Andrew’s Bach Society, and as a recitalist. This is Joseph’s premier performance with ChamberLab!
Michael Simmons, violoncello.
ChamberLab veteran Michael Simmons has composed “Christmas Music” for 2 violins, 2 violas, and cello, and “Humoresque” for string quartet.
Klara Wojtkowska, violin.
Klara has composed and will perform “Come Fall They Cut the Branches I Grew in the Spring” for solo violin. This is Klara’s ChamberLab debut as a composer!